Several of Frank Lloyd Wright's buildings are now on the UNESCO World Heritage Sites list. 

The United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has recognized 1,092 other world heritage sites for this designation, but only 23 those of are in the United States. Now, Wright's buildings have added eight more to that list.

Wright's work is one of the only examples of 20th century architecture to gain this recognition. The selected buildings include Taliesin West, here in Arizona. The other buildings on the list are:

  • Unity Temple in Oak Park, Illinois
  • Fredrick C. Robie House in Chicago
  • Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin
  • Hollyhock House in Los Angeles
  • Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pennsylvania
  • Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House in Madison, Wisconsin
  • Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York

“It is an immense honor to have Frank Lloyd Wright’s work recognized on the world stage among the most vital and important cultural sites on Earth like Taj Mahal in India, the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt, and the Statue of Liberty in New York,” said Stuart Graff, president and CEO of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation. 

You can learn more about some of Wright's work, as well as his plans for the Arizona Capitol, in the July issue of Arizona Highways.